Search

LogoSmall.jpg                              A-to-Z Electronic Databases

                               A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | # |                              

A.jpg

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) 

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.This database is partially paid for by INSPIRE.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

AccessAnesthesiology

A new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -– optimized for viewing on any device.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

AccessMedicine

Collection of over 60 medical and human biology texts, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, the Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Series, and tools like Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool, and a case study for students. Also included are an image gallery, drug database (Clinical Pharmacology Online), patient education information, and a link to appendices with normal laboratory values. A complete list of e-books can be found here.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

AccessPhysiotherapy

AccessPhysiotherapy is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

AccessSurgery

Includes over 24 surgery textbooks, surgical procedure videos, ABSITE board prep questions, case studies and high quality images. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Adis Insight

A database for drug research and development, disease treatment and decision making. Adis Insight contains more than 200,000 records of drugs in development, key clinical trials, deals and safety profiles.

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

African Journals Online (AJOL) UnLockIcon.jpg

Collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a not-for-profit organization based in South Africa. Free registration is required for access to full text.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Agricola UnLockIcon.jpg

The National Agricultural Library provides citations to agricultural literature and books, including animal welfare topics. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Alt HealthWatch (Ebsco)

This alternative health research database provides the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

American Hospital Directory (Redirects to IU Password List - Available from the Medical Library only)

Provides data and statistics about more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide, including both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

America's Health Rankings UnLockIcon.jpg

An analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis, evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Anatomy.TV 

Includes detailed multi-layer graphics of all areas of the human body. Also includes animated graphical simulations of common muscle movements, information for patients with explanatory text. All movies/animations can be played using Windows Media player, QuickTime player or RealPlayer.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Associations Unlimited (Gale) 

Source for associations - use this database to locate approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. The database is also used to monitor association trends; identify related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top


B.jpg

 

Bates Visual Guide to Examination

Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

BioOne.1

BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open-access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Biosis Previews

BIOSIS Previews is an English-language, bibliographic database service, with abstracts and citation indexing.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Board Vitals USMLE Steps 1 to 3

Provides thousands of questions that cover all categories presented on the USMLE Steps 1, 2, & 3.  Offers advanced statistics so users can know where their strengths and weaknesses are and provides suggested questions based on performance.

To create account:  https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_up

To log in: https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_in 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Board Vitals NBME Shelf Exams Questions and Review

4700 challenging Shelf Exam questions targeted for use during clerkship rotations. The questions have been specifically adapted for the Medical School Student Level and include thousands of multiple choice questions (MCQ), vignettes, and long form questions.  Shelf exams are available for:  Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology, OBGYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry & Surgery.

To create account:  https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_up

To log in: https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_in 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Books@Ovid

Books@Ovid includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Browzine

Browzine allows you to browse, read and monitor some of the library’s best journals, all from your iPad or Android device.  Built to accompany your searching needs, items found in BrowZine can easily be synced up with Zotero, Dropbox or several other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. To download, search for “BrowZine” in the App Store or Google play and get the app for free; when initially launching BrowZine, select Indiana University School of Medicine from the drop down list. For Browzine to work smoothly, you also need to download the VPN app, called Junos Pulse, from the app store for free. Information about installing and setting up the VPN can be found at http://kb.iu.edu/data/batd.html.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Business Source Complete is a database for all disciplines of business, including management, finance, accounting, marketing and economics.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top


C.jpg

Case Files Collection 

An interactive collection of more than 20 of the Case Files series books. Each case includes a discussion, clinical pearls and references, definitions of key terms and USMLE-style review questions with explanations of the correct answers. Login or create a free MyAccess account to save and track individual progress through cases and quiz results.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

CCH Intelliconnect 

IntelliConnect is the CCH platform to access their many guides, manuals, reports, and newsletters.  Browse online to find specific publications or run searches across the platform to find all relevant documents.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

CINAHL Complete 

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It allows for basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Clerkship/Clinical Rotations Collection 

From the LWW Health Library, the Clerkship/Clinical Rotations Collection provides core texts needed for each of the core clerkship rotations, highly recognized titles, and clerkship-specific series for Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Surgery, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ClinicalKey 

Experience the world's first Clinical Insight Engine. ClinicalKey is the next generation, online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of  databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.  Searching the Cochrane Library covers all the databases listed below, and the results are separated out for each individual database.       

♦ Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

♦ Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

♦ Cochrane Methodology Register

♦  Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects

♦  Health Technology Assessment Database

♦  NHS Economic Evaluation Database

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press) 

The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Current Bibliographies in Medicine (1992 to 2007) UnLockIcon.jpg

National Library of Medicine’s list of bibliographies covering a distinct subject area of biomedicine of current popular interest.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Current Contents Connect

A current awareness database that provides easy Web access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from more than 7,000 relevant, evaluated websites.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

↑ Back to top


D.jpg

DailyMed UnLockIcon.jpg

DailyMed provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (See the entry for Cochrane Library)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Diagnosaurus

Diagnosaurus® is a medical software app which has 1000+ differential diagnoses to help you make informed decisions.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Digital Anatomist Interactive Atlas UnLockIcon.jpg

An anatomy information system using graphical models and symbolic modeling of the structures and relationships that constitute the human body.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Directory of Pathology Training Programs in the United States and Canada UnLockIcon.jpg

A central source of information about pathology in the practice of medicine, in medical research, and to provide literature about pathology as a career.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Directory of Published Papers (DoPP) UnLockIcon.jpg

Provides uploads and searches of research papers.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Docphin (Individual Registration Required) UnLockIcon.jpg

Docphin is an App for Medical Professionals to keep up with medical research. You can follow your favorite journals, search PubMed, and access over 1,000 landmark articles by specialty, topic or drug class.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Doody's Core Titles (This is a password protected resource. You will need your IU username and passphrase to access our Password List. Please use the username and password from the Password List to log in to the resource.)

Collection development tool for health sciences libraries representing the collective wisdom of almost 200 medical librarians and content experts on the must-have titles in 121 specialties.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) UnLockIcon.jpg

Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top


E.jpg

ebrary

This database contains ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Embase

EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts. EMBASE is indexed using the Elsevier life science thesaurus, EMTREE. The database also included Medline records that are mapped to the EMBASE thesaurus.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Engineering Village

Engineering Village includes articles and conference proceedings for biomedical engineering and biomedical equipment, instrumentation and devices. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ERIC (Ebsco) or ERIC (Proquest) 

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

F.jpg

Faculty of 1000 Biology & Medicine

Recommendations and ratings of top articles from F1000's faculty of leading experts.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

First Aid for the USMLE collection (McGraw-Hill eBook Library)

A collection of eBooks to assist students, residents, and others prepare for the USMLE.  Titles included in this collection are First Aid for the USMLE Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3, First Aid Q&A and First Aid Cases. Recent titles added include First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2014USMLE Pharmacology Review Flash CardsFirst Aid for the NBDE Part I 2nd Edition, and First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Boards.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

First Aid Test Prep collection (McGraw-Hill eBook Library)

A collection of over 25 First Aid test prep eBooks to assist in the preparation of the Clerkship and Specialty Board Exams.  Some of the titles included in this collection are First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship, First Aid for the Surgery Clerkship, First Aid for the Pediatric Boards, and First Aid for the Internal Medicine Boards.  

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

FREIDA Online (Graduate Medical Education Directory) UnLockIcon.jpg

FREIDA Online, the AMA Residency & Fellowship Database, contains profiles of over 10,000 residency and fellowship programs, each accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

G.jpg

Gene Tests UnLockIcon.jpg

The Genetic Testing Registry (GTR®) provides a central location for voluntary submission of genetic test information by providers.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Global Health (Ovid)

Global Health focuses on public health research and practice. It contains information derived from journals, reports, books and conferences and contains over 1 million scientific records from 1973 - present.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Google Scholar UnLockIcon.jpg

To access the Google Scholar links to medical library journals use the VPN while off campus.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

H.jpg

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) 

Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), provides information about behavioral measurement instruments (e.g., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior. HAPI can help you identify measures that that might be useful for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, and program evaluation.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Health Technology Assessment Database (See the entry for Cochrane Library) 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthSTAR

Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. As such, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Histology Streaming Videos (IMDS) - Access from IUPUI Campus only

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

I.jpg

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office U.S. Army (IndexCat) UnLockIcon.jpg

IndexCat provides access to the digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office along with links to other selected NLM resources.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Indiana State Epidemiology Profiles (EPI Profiles) UnLockIcon.jpg

The State Epidemiological Profile is a tool for state policymakers and community leaders, to support the development of a data-driven framework and advance the mission of the Indiana Substance Abuse Prevention System.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

INSPIRE UnLockIcon.jpg

INSPIRE is Indiana's Virtual Library and includes a collection of academic databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana health professionals and residents.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

International Health Opportunities Directory UnLockIcon.jpg

The American Medical Student Association (AMSA) directory is a tool for information on global health programs and organizations for worldwide discovery and service. It includes a variety of opportunities for both medical students and premeds with organizations both in the US and abroad.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

IUPUI Scholar Works: Electronic Theses and Dissertations (formerly IDeA IUPUI Digital Archive) UnLockIcon.jpg

IUPUIScholarWorks Repository is a digital service that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material. Repositories are important tools for preserving an organization's legacy; they facilitate digital preservation and scholarly communication. Submissions in digital form include preprints, working papers, theses and dissertations, conference papers, presentations, student capstone projects, faculty-created learning objects, data sets, and more. IDeA has been redesigned and renamed IUPUIScholarWorks Repository.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

IUPUI University Library Databases

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

J.jpg

JAMAevidence

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience, and provides guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide

The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide is intended for use by any clinician or other health care provider who engages patients with infectious diseases.  It distills complex material into need-to-know information that is easily accessible, rapidly viewed, with frequent updates. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Johns Hopkins HIV Guide

The Johns Hopkins HIV Guide is intended for use by any clinician or other health care provider who engages or refers patients with HIV/AIDS.  It distills complex material into need-to-know information that is easily accessible, rapidly viewed, with frequent updates.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Journal Citation Reports (JCR Impact Factor)

Comprehensive resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries.

It provides data on:

•Most frequently cited journals in a field

•Highest impact journals in a field

•Largest journals in a field

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Journals@Ovid

The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) 

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format (video-based). This publication aims to solve some of the most difficult problems in contemporary life science research: low transparency and reproducibility of biological experiments, and time-consuming learning of experimental techniques. JoVE sections include Bioengineering, Biology, Immunology & Infection, Medicine (formerly Clinical and Translational Medicine) and Neuroscience.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

JSTOR 

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

K.jpg

Kaiser State Health Facts UnLockIcon.jpg

Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.   It serves as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

L.jpg

Lexicomp Online

Lexicomp provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility, and other tools.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe 

LexisNexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. The 5,900 sources include: National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789 Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

LWW Health Library Premium Basic Sciences Collection

This Collection consists of 29 ebooks including Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy, and Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

M.jpg

MasterFILE Premier 

Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes: Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week. Full text dating as far back as January 1990 abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984. Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews. Essential Documents in American History--a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) & Safety Data Sheets (SDS) - MSDS Online

MSDS Online has over 1 million Safety Data Sheet documents, and it can also be used to print hazard labels. MSDS Online is available to all staff. The link can only be accessed from an IU computer.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

MedCalc 3000

MedCalc 3000 encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Medline (OVID)  Medline (Pubmed)  Medline (Ebsco) 

Research authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with MEDLINE®.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

MEDLINEplus Health Information UnLockIcon.jpg

MedlinePlus is the premier free medical/health website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you reliable, up to date information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language most people can understand. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Medscape (Individual registration required) UnLockIcon.jpg

Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME. 

 _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in print (v. 9 to present) 

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides users with critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. Written by leading experts in the field, this series supports the informed selection and use of commercial testing products.Typical MMY entries include descriptive information about the test, professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be included in this series, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or substantively revised since it last appeared in the series. Full text of test reviews is included in the database, and up to three independent reviews are included for each test.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Merck Medicus (Free registration required) UnLockIcon.jpg

Univadis is a service from Aptus Health which is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc.  It provides unbiased, relevant medical news as well as helpful resources for your daily practice at no cost.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

MERLOT Health Sciences UnLockIcon.jpg

MERLOT Health Sciences Portal is an educational resource for health professionals, educators, and students, who can use the learning materials, submit their own modules and assignments for evaluation, and learn ideas to help them learn as well as teach in a variety of settings.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Diseases 

Scriver's OMMBID is a digital reference for geneticists, researchers, students, clinicians, and fellows involved with the causation and treatment of inherited diseases. It provides cutting edge information spanning the entire field of genetics.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Micromedex 

Micromedex is a collection of databases offering comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology information for health care professionals. Databases included are DISEASEDEX, DRUGDEX, POISINDEX and REPRORISK. Also included is NeoFax and Pediatrics, evidence-based drug information for neonatal and pediatric health professionals.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations and Gene Fusions in Cancer UnLockIcon.jpg

The information in the Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations and Gene Fusions in Cancer, relates chromosomal aberrations to tumor characteristics, based either on individual cases or associations.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

N.jpg

Natural Medicines (Formerly Natural Standard): the authority on integrative medicine

Natural Medicines was founded by clinicians and researchers to provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. For each therapy covered by Natural Medicines, a research team systematically gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in Natural Medicines databases.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nature Precedings UnLockIcon.jpg

Nature Precedings is a permanent, citable archive for pre-publication research and preliminary findings.  Nature Precedings has been a place for researchers to share documents, including presentations, posters, white papers, technical papers, supplementary findings, and non-peer-reviewed manuscripts.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NEJM Resident 360 

Designed by the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine, NEJM Resident 360 helps residents navigate their residency. Features include rotation prep, learning lab, resident lounge, career, and discussion boards. To access all NEJM Resident 360 content, create an account and associate your profile with Indiana University School of Medicine.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NetAnatomy

NetAnatomy is an interactive human anatomy resource. Using images, labels and descriptions, NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students and as a place to review anatomy for students beginning clinical rotations, USMLE preparation, etc..

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NHS Economic Evaluation Database (See the entry for Cochrane Library)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NIH RePORTER UnLockIcon.jpg

(formerly the CRISP database) Searches for NIH funded research projects.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NLM Catalog UnLockIcon.jpg

The NLM Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials. Links to the library's holdings in LocatorPlus, NLM's online public access catalog, are also provided.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NLM Databases and Electronic Resources UnLockIcon.jpg

View all resources or select subject terms and filters to find electronic resources from the National Library of Medicine.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nursing@Ovid

Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

O.jpg

OMIM Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man UnLockIcon.jpg

Continuously updated catalog of human genes and genetic disorders and traits, with particular focus on the molecular relationship between genetic variation and phenotypic expression. It is considered to be a phenotypic companion to the Human Genome Project. authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

OMMBID (Scriver's Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Diseases)

Online resource delivering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Ovid Medline

The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

↑ Back to top

P.jpg

PAeasy

Provides essential information to prepare for the PANCE and the PANRE.  PAeasy includes over 1,400 questions and answers written by practicing Physician Assistants, a customization features which includes multiple testing modes, and a Personal Study Plan to help set and achieve goals.

 To create account:  https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://new.paeasy.com/institution

 To log in:  https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://new.paeasy.com

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) 

Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Pediatric Care Online

Comprehensive resource from the American Academy of Pediatrics combines clinical information with point-of-care resources. Features include Red Book Online and a downloadable mobile app.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Philosopher's Index 

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Pictorial Roster (From the Indianapolis Medical Society) UnLockIcon.jpg

The Indianapolis Medical Society is a professional membership organization for all licensed Doctors of Medicine and Doctors of Osteopathy in the Indianapolis area.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Proquest Databases

A set of databases featuring scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, and papers.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Proquest Dissertations and Theses

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Prospero UnLockIcon.jpg

PROSPERO includes protocol details for systematic reviews relevant to health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PsycArticles 

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features DSM-5® and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PsycINFO 

PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. This traditional version offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing. Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,400 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PsycTESTS 

Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycTESTS serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PubMed (IU Authenticated)

MEDLINE made available through PubMed.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PubMed Health

Reviews of clinical effectiveness research.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


 

↑ Back to top

Q.jpg

We currently have no databases that begin with the letter Q

 

 

↑ Back to top

R.jpg

Red Book Online 

Evidence-based guidance from the American Academy of Pediatrics on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood conditions.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ReSearch Connect 

IUSM ReSEARCH Connect is an important and innovative tool that enables IUSM researchers to identify new funding opportunities and potential collaborators and co-authors within academia, industry, and the broader health sciences community. Also known as SciVal. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


 

 

↑ Back to top

S.jpg

SafetyLit: Injury Prevention Literature UnLockIcon.jpg

SafetyLit provides a free comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic database of scholarly journal articles, technical reports, and theses concerning all issues of safety arising from many professional disciplines.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SciELO Citation Index

Search and view research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.  

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Science Citation Index

Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It is a database in the Web of Science.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Scientific American Surgery (formerly ACS Surgery)

Click on the “Institutional User Access” button to access the website.   

If you are a resident and have a Weekly Curriculum login, click on the “Weekly Curriculum User Sign In” button to log in.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) 

SciFinder covers the primary literature of all areas of chemistry, medicine, and other areas. First time users will need to register here for an account from a campus computer. For account (username, password, and/or deactivation) issues after registration, please contact CAS http://www.cas.org/contact-us/cas-customer-center

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEER - Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program (National Cancer Institute) UnLockIcon.jpg

Provides information on cancer statistics by collecting data on cancer cases from various locations and sources throughout the United States.

 _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Social Sciences Citation Index

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It is a database in the Web of Science.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Social Services Abstracts 

Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Social Work Abstracts 

Social Work Abstracts Plus provides two unique databases in one subscription: Social Work Abstracts and The Register of Clinical Social Workers. Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sociological Abstracts 

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SPORTDiscus 

SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 230 full text titles. In addition, SPORTDiscus with Full Text also contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Click here for more info.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SpringerLink 

Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Springer Protocols 

Springer Protocols is an online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Compiling protocols from Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Neuromethods, Biological Procedures Online, and other sources to offer researchers access to nearly thirty years of tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols for use in the lab.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

STAT!REF

Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.  We currently have 2 different means of accessing STAT!Ref, IUPUI University Library's subscription and IU Health's subscription.  Each subscription provides access to different resources.

♦  Stat!Ref through UL

♦  Stat!Ref through IUH 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


 

↑ Back to top

T.jpg

Toxnet (Toxicology Data Network) UnLockIcon.jpg

Resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

TRIP

A clinical search engine designed to quickly and easily let users find research evidence.  The Ruth Lilly Medical Library has a subscription to the Premium account.  To access the Premium features, please create a free Trip account.  When you register, under Institution, pick Indiana University School of Medicine from the dropdown list.  Once you have completed your registration, your account will be linked with our Premium subscription.  


_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

U.jpg

Ulrich's periodicals directory 

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is an important tool for reference, research, and serials management. This database provides information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world, plus thousands of newpapers. This database allows users to retrieve, manipulate, and scrutinise citations from myriad perspectives, including 970 subject categories, ISSN, subscription rates, publisher name, title, editor, electronic availability and more. Updated quarterly, the database also provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers from over 200 countries worldwide. With over 250,000 records,Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is ideal for anyone requiring detailed information on journals, magazines and other serial publications.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Union Civil War Physicians Database (From RLML's Historical Databases) UnLockIcon.jpg

This database contains demographic, military and other information about Union Civil War Surgeons.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

USMLE Easy (McGraw-Hill)

Provides essential information to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, Step 2, and Step 3. Offers thousands of online questions covering all the disciplines and organ systems covered on the exam, as well as customization features that allow users to focus on the topics that are needed to master while bypassing topics that users already know.

To create account:  https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://new.usmle-easy.com/institution

To log in:  https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=https://new.usmle-easy.com/institution?encInsId=NDUzMjQyMzAx

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

UpToDate 

UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which synthesizes the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


 

 

↑ Back to top

V.jpg

Visual DX

VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

W.jpg

Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)

The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

WebWISER UnLockIcon.jpg

WISER is a system designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Wiley Online

Comprehensive resources that covers a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Content includes access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 16,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Winking Skull UnLockIcon.jpg

Founded by Thieme Publishers, WinkingSkull.com is a free interactive anatomy resource for medical students containing more than 250 full-color illustrations and over 50 self-test questions and answers.  To access WinkingSkull.com, you must register at http://www.winkingskull.com/Account/Register (leave Access Code blank).

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Worldcat 

OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

X.jpg

We currently have no databases that begin with the letter X

 

 

↑ Back to top

Y.jpg

We currently have no databases that begin with the letter Y

 

 

↑ Back to top

Z.jpg

Zoological Record

The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

↑ Back to top

Number.jpg

19th & 20th Century Indiana Physicians Database (From RLML's Historical Databases) UnLockIcon.jpg

This database contains the names of physicians and midwives who identified themselves as physicians or midwives either by self-declaration in a census or by membership in an organized medical society.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

↑ Back to top

 

 

                     A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | # |                    

 

Phone: (317) 278-9327

Email: tembenne@iu.edu


ntelliConnect is the CCH platform to access their many guides, manuals, reports, and newsletters.  Browse online to find specific publications or run searches across the platform to find all relevant documents. 

975 W. Walnut Street, IB 100 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Ph: (317) 274-7182 | Fax: (317) 278-4506